How are you at receiving criticism? Do you prefer that others treat you with kid gloves, or go for brutal honesty?

I like to think that I can take criticism pretty well.  I’m aware of a few times where I didn’t.  I think it depends on the circumstances.  If somebody says “You suck” and that’s it… I might ask “Why?” to clarify.  That way… If I see it as a worthy thing to work on, I can work on it.  I guess it depends on how I perceive the criticism.  If I feel it might be an attack, I might not take it as well.  I might get all agitated and such.  If not, well…I might not take it as well.  It depends on what and how it is being said and the reason behind it.  You won’t always get the reasons though, and I get that.

When I was in high school, I played and sang in a band.  I was never out to be the best singer ever.  Truth be told, I could hardly keep a tune.  My voice was less than pleasing and I knew it.  A friend of mine’s mom had taken me aside a few years later and said “You know?  I never really liked your voice.”  I said “That’s ok. Not many people did, I’d imagine.”  And that was that.  No harm, no foul.  I knew it was awful, but it was all I had.  lol  I didn’t ask why.

When I started getting into music production…(Who am I kidding?  I’m STILL JUST getting into it), I was recording the band I was working with at the time.  They were very open to the idea of keeping it in house because it was cheaper to just have me do it than pay somebody to.  We all loved that idea.  So we start working on things and I send them what I have at any given time.  They are less than impressed.  So I ask “Why?  What’s the problem?”  In this situation, it is less about my feelings or ego or whatever, and more about knowing what everyone wanted so I could attempt to fix things. The way they came at me about it felt like an attack, so I became very unreceptive to what input they were trying to throw my way.  Instead of attempting to find a solution it turn into shouting matches.  Good stuff.

Anyhow, I guess it’s all about how the criticism is perceived.  Things can always be taken out of context.