Speeding…Speeding…Speeding…

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

In 2005, I was pulled over for speeding. I was going 52 mph in a 40 mph zone. When asked whether or not I knew why I was being pulled over, I confirmed that I did. I did mention that my speedometer was a bit off, and that while I wasn’t contesting speeding, I was under the impression that I was only going 45. That was the day I found out just how unreliable my speedometer was.

The officer asked why I was speeding. I explained that this particular day was my last day at my job, and I was running late. I told him that I understood that that was no excuse to be speeding and risking the safety of myself as well as others.

“You should be more careful.”

“Yes, sir. I very much agree.”

“Normally, I would have just let you go, but your papers don’t match up. I am going to have to cite you for speeding and improper paper work.”

“Yes, sir. I understand.”

He hands me a ticket and I drive to work.

I do not think that I was burned in this instance. I did have to pay money for a ticket that I wished I could have used for something else. Things turned out for the best. It made me pay more attention to the way I operated my vehicle and keep better track of my paperwork, so that I didn’t have to go through that situation again. It was a learning experience.

Leave a Reply

