Maybe….Or…Maybe Not

Here’s the title of your post: “An Offer I Couldn’t Refuse.”

Set a timer for ten minutes, and write it. Go!

Ten minutes to write about this? Again? I think that this might be an offer that I can refuse. I need practice though, so I will partake.

Sitting on a couch, I receive a phone call. It is a sunny Saturday afternoon. The latest episode of whatever sitcom is particularly exploding out of everyone’s brains is on the television.

“Hey dude. What are you doing?” the voice says.

“Oh, nothing,” I say as I scratch my head. “I am just over here rotting my brains.”

“That’s the spirit.” The voice says. “I have an idea.”

“Those are always famous last words.”

“No, no, hear me out. It is a great idea.”

“Do you see what I mean?”

“You can’t turn this down though! I wanna work on a new project. I have a whole group lined up. It will be amazing.”

I sit forward in the chair.

“I’m listening.”

The voice on the phone proceeds to tell me his great plan. He tells me that he has hooked an amazing saxophone player who wants to play in a ska band.

“Ska, you say? Do you think that kind of thing will work around here?”

“It has to. Nobody is doing it. We’ll be huge.”

“I don’t know, man. I don’t know that I have that kind of time. I don’t really even have the gear.”

“I got you covered man. You can use whatever I’ve got here. Just get your ass over here? Don’t make me say ‘Please.'”

I head over to the Voice’s house and sit on his couch. He hands me a beer and cracks his own. The Sax man shows a few minutes later. We play and play and make all sorts of cool music.

Is the ten minutes up yet?

Leave a Reply

