Storytime

What makes a good storyteller, in your opinion? Are your favorite storytellers people you know or writers you admire?

To me, a good storyteller obviously has to be able to keep my attention.  I have to be able to visualize, be it through their words or their music.  Tom Waits is very good at this.  Dark and gritty tunes with weird carnival music.  Makes for an interesting ride.  His style is very visual to me.  Leo Kottke is very visual.  I think a lot of instrumental people have to be kind of clever in the naming of their compositions to keep the visualization.  A good example is Leo Kottke’s “When Shrimp Learn to Whistle”.  I may have written about it before.  What a name, though.  It has always left an image in my mind.

Leave a Reply

