Thanks for the tunes

Whether it’s a trashy TV show, extra-pulpy fiction, or nutrient-free candy, write a thank-you note to your guiltiest guilty pleasure.

Dear 2000’s pop rock.  I thank you for being a thing.  Even when I was in a punk rock band and in denial that I couldn’t listen to anything but punk rock (which I secretly didn’t even like nearly as much as you), you provided me with huge hooks and strong melodies.  Thanks Fall Out Boy for coming out in 2002-3 and blowing me away with Pat Stump’s big ol’ voice.  I may not like them nearly as much now as I did then, but bands like that kept me reassured that even being a 19 year old “punk”, I could enjoy whatever I wanted.  (I was such a tool)

Leave a Reply

