Nothing

You’re asked to recite a poem (or song lyrics) from memory — what’s the first one that comes to mind? Does it have a special meaning, or is there another reason it has stayed, intact, in your mind?

“Nothing” by Mason Jennings

Make yourself at home

Cause I’m going out

Across the street

To get us some water

Cause this water’s brown

And I’m so embarrassed to have you hear

But I want you around

Usually I’d Sing or Play on my guitar

But I know that won’t get very far with you

Cause you like music that makes you move

Mine has a groove but there’s nothing left to prove

Please know what I mean

When I say “Nothing”

There’s another verse and a bridge part to it.  It’s a catchy tune.  I can relate to it.  In the song he talks about his first apartment and some of the troubles he’s having with it and experiences and furniture.  Very visual lyrics and simple music to go along with it.

One thought on “Nothing

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Hot Little Biscuit” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

