Just Be

“Follow your inner moonlight; don’t hide the madness.” — Allen Ginsberg

Do you follow Ginsberg’s advice — in your writing and/or in your everyday life?

I had to look up more about this quote to get context.  I didn’t want to spout about my inner craziness or something.

I do think that in my writing, for the most part, I follow that philosophy.  Especially in this kind of setting.  Mainly because I don’t know who, if anyone, is going to see this.  I treat it like a conversation with someone that I’m close to.  Or maybe a thought out loud that my dog just happens to hear.  No worries about a response of any kind.  I just think, and write.  I like to think I write music the same way, but I think I’m a bit more restrained with that sometimes.  I don’t let it just come out.

Everyday life on the other hand… I tone myself down.  I struggle to find what I want to say when I’m with people.  I can embrace whatever I’m going to say, but I think I tend to care a little bit more about what I’m saying and who I’m saying to.  Sometimes that means I can’t find the right words.  Sometimes it means I can’t find any words at all.  I think this makes sense in the context of that quote.  It’s about doing/saying/feeling what you want to feel without worrying about what anyone else has to think or say about…. At least that’s what I gather…

2 thoughts on “Just Be

  1. “…It’s about doing/saying/feeling what you want to feel…” Indeed it is. I too have the issue of ‘saying’ the correct words. Though I admit- I usually think one thing and a Freudian slip of the mouth says another. ’tis life.

  2. Pingback: Howl at the Moon | Blogged With Words

Leave a Reply

