Do you have the time?

If you had to come up with one question, the answer to which would determine whether or not you could be friends with a person you’ve just met, what would it be? What would the right answer be?

I’m only giving myself 3 1/2 minutes to respond to this.  Me and my timers.  A friend of mine seems to always joke with me.  “You got your alarm set?”  “Oh of course.  I always do.”  I guess it’s a weird quirk that I have.  I don’t really pay attention to the time very often, so I’ve got alarms and reminders and calendars set all over the place to keep me a little on track.

“Would you be willing to spend a limited amount of time with me at any given time… At least until one of my various alarms goes off and I have to pick a child up, or go to work, or drink a glass of water, or let my dog out?  If so, would you be willing to wait a few seconds while I do some of these activities.  Or even a few minutes or a couple of hours if needed?”

That is a long question, isn’t it?  I guess “CAn you pay attention while I string these words together to see and hope that they make sense?”

The answer would at least have to be “O.K.”  I’m not too picky.  Now I guess I’m out of time.  Bye bye now.

Leave a Reply

