4 minutes

You’re about to enter a room full of strangers, where you will have exactly four minutes to tell a story that would convey who you really are. What’s your story?

I come from a medium sized family filled with a lot of procrastinators.  Not all of them are, but there is a majority that are.  I am one of them.  I find it very hard to get motivated unless I just find something I’m really interested in attaining or achieving.  If it happens to be something like that, I’ll work at it until I get it or forget it.

I picked up the guitar 17 years ago.  At first, it was just kind of something to do.  Then it got to be interesting, so I kept at it.  I learned as much as possible… I joined some bands… I wrote music… About six years ago, I even started instructing people on how to do it.  I got motivated.  I hit lulls, but I kept at it the best I could.  I learned that it was okay to take breaks at times.  You don’t always want to do it.  Sometimes it’s better to sit and read a book or watch a movie and give your mind a break.

I’m still quite the procrastinator.  I don’t practice like I should.  I wait until the last minute to set things up sometimes.  Right now I’m even slacking on a project that I’m trying to help a friend on.  I better get on that.

Leave a Reply

