Did you HAVE to say all that?

“I would have written a shorter letter, but I did not have the time.” — Blaise Pascal
Where do you fall on the brevity/verbosity spectrum?

I’m taking the idea of the post we had a few days ago and using a 10 minute timer for my posts for the foreseeable future.  It is pretty clear where I fall on the brevity/verbosity spectrum if you read my posts.  I usually say quite a bit when I don’t need to.  This isn’t always the case though.  I guess it would depend on how much time I’ve had to think on the topic and whether I think my thoughts are actually relevant.  If it’s not going to be helpful to the discussion, I’m going to do my best to not say it.

I’ve got a friend who pretty much lives on the verbosity side of the spectrum.  It’s rather frustrating.  I let her know from time to time in a friendly way.  She’ll use phrases like “There was a question as to…” or “Things as such” then go on and on for 10 minutes and leave me with a confused look.  I’ve got the mind to tell her…”What’s going on?  You’ve got 30 seconds…starting…now” and see what I can do.  I don’t say this to complain.   I say it because sometimes it can be amusing.

When I’m working, I try to reside on the brevity side of things.  I just recently got a new student.  The first lesson was last night, actually.  I’m so glad I knew them, otherwise my ramblings probably would have been taken as “This guy’s an idiot.”  I get excited about what I do and, when someone’s enjoying it, even better…  I was all over the place talking about things that were probably a bit further along than what needed to be talked about.  Was I concise?  Hardly.  Was I clear?  Maybe a little.  Did I talk way too much?  Absolutely.  I guess it’ll be back to the “drawing board” or should I say “speaking board” to work out more efficient ways to look and explain things.

This was a pretty wordy answer for me, but I have to fill up the whole 10 minutes of writing time with something.  A minute and a half to go…………………….

Leave a Reply

