Delayed Contact

How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?

How would I get along with these folks if today was my first time meeting them?  This is a good question.  Over the years it’s taken increasingly longer periods of time to warm up to people.  I think that is due to the fact that I sometimes enjoy long periods of decreased interactivity with people.

My sister is friendly and funny.  I think I would probably get along with her pretty well once I got over the initial shock of finding out “Oh man… I have a sister?”.  It’s kind of funny to think about.  I actually have a couple of siblings that I’ve never met, so I think this particular angle is one I can actually kind of dig into a little bit.  I’ve spoken with one of them over the phone and on the internet once or twice.  She seemed friendly enough.  I could probably get along with her.  I usually get along with everyone.  She’s younger than me by about three years, so I doubt I could spew out any “big-brother” type advice about anything.  She probably knows more about everything than I do.  That’s usually the case.  I think she and I would get along pretty well if we spent time together.

I grew up in a single parent home.  I think that I might be able to get along with my mom if I hadn’t met her until today.  She and I are a lot alike, so it’d probably start out as a volatile relationship.  I hope that is the right use of that word.  I’m feeling pretty lazy right not, so I won’t bother to check.  I think we’d eventually get along just fine though.

My dad, I just recently met (if you count six years ago recent).  I think this is another one where I could actually dig in a little deeper because I haven’t known him my entire life.  I’d known of him though.  He and I got along from the get go when I found him online.  He visited one or twice, so I count that as my first real meeting of him.  I saw what my mom said about me being just like him.  Aren’t we just like both parents in some ways though?  He was quiet, as was I.  We did have some conversations with him talking to me about what he’d been up to for the last 22 years or so.  I talked to him about what I had been doing.  Funny thing is, neither of us had been doing very much.  He retired from the military and got a job at a post office and has been there for almost 20 years.

This post has made me think I should keep in better contact with all of these people.

2 thoughts on “Delayed Contact

Leave a Reply

