A literary-minded witch gives you a choice: with a flick of the wand, you can become either an obscure novelist whose work will be admired and studied by a select few for decades, or a popular paperback author whose books give pleasure to millions. Which do you choose?

I don’t know that I would be able to choose between the two.

Being a lesser known writer who is admired and studied far beyond my time wouldn’t be bad.  It’d be a good way to get remembered, I suppose.  People could dig deep into what I had written and try to determine what it means.  But then…after awhile… Wouldn’t it be just like being a popular author?

Being a popular author would be great.  I’d reach a whole lot of people.  I’d be well known.  That could be fun, in a way.  People could dig deep into what I had written and find meaning.  I guess that sounds pretty familiar.  After I’m dead and gone, my work could fade into obscurity.

I think it could go either way really.  I don’t have much of a preference, but I guess if I HAD to choose…just HAD to… I’d go with option A.  I’d be able to stay out of sight and still create something meaningful to someone…

Leave a Reply

