Stuck and Un-Stuck

When was the last time you experienced writer’s block? What do you think brought it about — and how did you dig your way out of it?

I’ve been experience writer’s block for quite some time.  It feels like years.  That doesn’t seem completely right though.  I have been creating quite a bit lately… Be it through music or writing.  I still have a bit of trouble though on occasion.

I think that part of what brings it in on is being stagnant in other areas.  I don’t get out as much as I once did.  I’m not experiencing as much.  When I was a little younger, I got out constantly.  I was always doing something.  I didn’t always have my guitar in my hands, but I didn’t have as much trouble making things happen.  I went on little adventures.  Day trip?  Sounds great!  Concert in Austin?  Sure!  Now, I spend a lot of time at home.  I don’t think I’ve grown out of those things as I still long to do them… I just for some reason have a problem getting out to do them.

There has been something that has helped me plop out ideas lately.  These writing prompts have been helping me think in a different way.  They’ve also just helped me gain the confidence to post more personal thoughts and such on here.  It’s just helped me write more this way.  

A friend that I’ve made through the SoulPancake site has been posting creativity prompts for awhile and I’ve been using those as a way to visualize subjects for music.  I used to sing and play, but I don’t do that too much these days.  I do my best to make instrumental tunes… Mediocre at best, but I ain’t sad about that.  Her prompts have helped me create though.  The more you create the better you get.  It’s been a nice, gentle push.  I’m very grateful for that.

If you want to get better, sometimes you have to produce… That’s something I learned from a blog that I subscribe to about recording.  Keep producing… You can be concerned about quality, but if you’re just starting out… look at how much you can do and go back and pick from the best afterwards.  Not everything is going to be a jewel.

3 thoughts on “Stuck and Un-Stuck

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Writer’s Block Party | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

