Middle of the Year in Review

Back on January 21st, we asked you to predict what day #211 would be like. Well, July 30th is that day — how have your predictions held up so far? If you didn’t reply to the prompt at the time, is this year turning out to be as you’d expected?

I didn’t reply to the original January 21st prompt.  I’ve never been one to make very good predictions without noticing patterns.  I’ve tried to go with the idea of “If you don’t expect anything, you won’t be disappointed”.  It has served me well… about half the time.  It turns out that I get stressed out fairly easily and I’m a big fan of routine/habits (as long as they’re not detrimental to my mind/body).  

This year, there have been a few things that have shaped things for better or for worse.  An old friend has been staying here since the very beginning of January, one of my bands has started to become a little bit more active, and I’ve decided that I’m going to try to get started in the process of going back to school and trying to make a few changes.  I’ve not been taking care of myself the way I need to as of late.  I need to get on that.

This friend that has been staying with me this past 7 months is seeming to be more and more of a fair weather friend.  While I don’t want to sit here and complain about them or anything really (my problems are pretty small compared to many), I do need to say something about it.  If your only communication with a friend is calling every six months to a year and asking for something (this may not be the case, but it sure seems that way), then we are not really friends.  I think that says enough there.

My band has been starting to be a bit active in the area.  We’ve played a few shows, made a few friends, and written more music than I can keep track of.  It appears we’ve got an upcoming show in the next few weeks, if all goes well.  That should be pretty good.

And finally, I’m trying to make a few changes to better my situation and ultimately my life.  I’ve been stuck in a rut for quite a bit and have been inching my way out slowly but surely.  A few weeks ago, the parent of one of my students talked to me about going back to school.  Made a good point (perhaps a few…I will admit that I sometimes have trouble paying attention).  I’ve been teaching their child for a few years now.  They’ve been very happy with how I’ve done things and how the child has grown.  Kind of convinced me to want to learn more and try to do better.  So, I’m looking into that and trying to figure out what’s what.  (I know it’s not THAT complicated, but I get confused rather easily, so it takes me awhile to get things rolling)  

All in all…the year hasn’t been FANTASTIC, but it hasn’t been the worst.  I’ve been bobbing by the shore too long.  I think it’s time to weigh anchor and see where the wind takes me. (Wow, that was probably the corniest thing I’ve said….EVER).  Only way to go is up though, right?

One thought on “Middle of the Year in Review

Leave a Reply

