Resetting

After an especially long and exhausting drive or flight, a grueling week at work, or a mind-numbing exam period — what’s the one thing you do to feel human again?

I wish that I could say that I had some sort of “resetting” routine after a particularly exhaust or overwhelming string of events.  I think this changes constantly, so I’ll try to narrow things down a little.  I’ll have a little more than one, it seems.

When I was a small child, I think I kicked and screamed and what not after a particularly long drive.  I may have been a bit over dramatic, but what kid isn’t?  Back then…the cure all to feeling like new again… was sleep.  You give me a nap, and I’m good as new.

As I got older, this changed.  Sleep still played a part, but it wasn’t the only answer.  After a long school week, the best way to “reset” was spending time with friends.  Depending on the age, we’d play in the backyard… play video games… go skateboarding (this lasted a month as I liked having use of my limbs)… and listen to music.  Music was a big thing to help me feel normal again.  It sounds cliche… but it probably is.  

I picked up a guitar when I was 13 years old.  That was a good way to make me “reset” once I got going.  After a particularly stressful day at school (cause…you know…teenagers)… nothing beat grabbing a sandwich and a coke and then hiding in the bedroom for hours making a bunch of incoherent noise until something finally clicked and voila…MUSIC!.  This stayed with me…even to this day.

Once I joined the “working” world, it started cycling back to when I was a small child… Minus the kicking and screaming of course.  I would come home and nap after a particularly grueling day or week at work.  Then I’d wake up and play my guitar or calls friends up and see what was going on.  Life in the late teens – early 20’s was easy.

Now, I like to sit by a large window… hopefully on a cloudy or even a rainy day… dog on my lap… book in my hand… a nice warm cup of tea on the table… a guitar somewhere in the vicinity…and solitude.  These days it takes a bit longer for me to reset, but I really enjoy it. 

5 thoughts on “Resetting

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Back to Life | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Resuscitation | It's Mayur Remember?

  3. Pingback: Around the Mound | litadoolan

Leave a Reply

