Getting “older”

As a kid, you must have imagined what it was like to be an adult. Now that you’re a grownup (or becoming one), how far off was your idea of adult life?

     I don’t know that I had huge aspirations for when I was a grown up.  As I got older, some preferences changed.  Some strengthened.  The feeling of urgency waned a little.  I learned from going to work right out of high school that the job was just like dealing with high school people.  That whole part where they are sometimes much older than you doesn’t really matter.  You put a bunch of different people in one place and give them a job to do…they’re going to revert to their 16 year old self eventually.  Maybe you did something they didn’t like.  Maybe they thought they could do it better.  All adult life did was reinforce the fact that time flies no matter how slow the day seems.  All those things I said I was gonna do, I didn’t.  All the things I said I wouldn’t do, I did.  I’m still working on switching those around.  Follow through was not ever one of my strong suits, but I’m trying.  It isn’t much different than being a kid…you just have more responsibility.  That’s it.  I don’t think you ever really “grow up”, you just get older and things change.

Leave a Reply

