Hail? In the middle of a Texas Summer?

You’re at the beach with some friends and/or family, enjoying the sun, nibbling on some watermelon. All of a sudden, within seconds, the weather shifts and hale starts descending form the sky. Write a post about what happens next.

     Ahhh…A nice and warm summer day.  Sunshine, heat, cool water.  It can’t get any better than this.  The dog even plays fetch the right way for once.  What a great time…

     *Plunk… Plunk*  What was that?  *Plunk… plunk… plunk*  The noise seems to be getting louder and a bit quicker with every passing second.  *Plunk… plunk… plunk… pppppppplunk… WHACK*  I seem to be getting bombarded here.  That was my head, thank you very much.  Stinky, my dog, looks a bit worried.  She comes and hides next to me.  

     All of a sudden it is an onslaught.  Hail?  Really?  It was just sunny ten seconds ago.  That’s Texas weather for you.  Next thing you know it will be snowing….Wait…I better not jinx everyone.  I gather up my small amount of things and get the dog back on a leash and we work our way back to the car.  Getting pelted by ice in the middle of summer… Painful but refreshing.  The sky is gray now and my dog, whom just randomly began to be afraid of storms, is pulling and pulling.  Her little jack russell legs can only do so much though.  (I bet you thought she was gonna be a big dog….didn’t you?)  I pick her up and carry her.  Not much further.  Just the other side of the small parking lot.  People are all calmly walking to their cars.  “We’ll just sit in here until it stops and returns to sweltering heat”  I get in the car with the pooch and turn the ac on.  As soon as the hail stops, I’m on my way home.  Stinky has no more desire to be here.

One thought on “Hail? In the middle of a Texas Summer?

  1. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Sudden Shifts | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

