AH! The Voices!

A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you’re talking to are thinking. The catch: you can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?

     This sounds intriguing.  Wouldn’t knowing what people are really thinking and feeling be wonderful?  You would know how to approach them concerning certain things.  When to not approach them.  I bet that would be quite helpful…and also…downright fun… For awhile.  Maybe a few minutes.  Maybe a few hours.  One thing that isn’t disclosed… Is it something that can be isolated?  Or do you get everything all at once?  Are we going full on Bruce Almighty?  This is where it would be trying.  I can’t tell isolate my own thoughts on most days.  What am I to do with the world’s thoughts?  What can I do about them?  I think you’d find that it could be quite overwhelming pretty quickly.  I wouldn’t accept.  Aside from not being able to keep my own thoughts straight most of the time… I also like peace and quiet.  Can’t have all of those other voices chiming in ALL THE TIME.  Also…I’m of the mind that what other people think is none of my business unless they want it to be my business.  It’s hard sometimes, because you do want to know.  But you can’t know everything.

5 thoughts on “AH! The Voices!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Full Disclosure | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Hearing Voices in my Head | Prairie Views

  3. I think it would be an ephemeral joy. I made a point in my own interpretation that what if those thoughts become us, what if we are no longer aware of what we individually think?

Leave a Reply

