Fictional Intruder

Go down the rabbit hole with Alice; play quidditch with Harry Potter; float down the river with Huck Finn… If you could choose three fictional events or adventures to experience yourself, what would they be?

     I had been reading Upton Sinclair’s “The Jungle” recently.  I haven’t picked it up in a few weeks, but I enjoy what I have read so far.  There was a scene in the beginning of the book that was just fantastic.  The wedding of the book’s main characters, Jurgis and Ona.  I’m not really a wedding type person, but this was a wedding in the back room of a bar.  Drunken singing and dancing…music put on by a trio haphazardly playing their instruments with everything they have.  The “imagery” was very powerful and I could picture it like I was there.  It was a very cool scene.  

     In the film, “Once”, the scene where Guy and Girl are in the back of the music shop with the pianos.  Guy teaches Girl the basic melody for “Falling Slowly” and they proceed to play it like they both knew it right then (They did write the songs for the movie).  That would have been something to hear and see up close.

     In “Neverwhere” and “Stardust”, Neil Gaiman uses the traveling market as a place where the character gains something important or meets someone important.  It has been awhile since I’ve read either of these books, so I could be a bit off.  They’re both depicted as colorful places with colorful people.  Almost magical.  I think those places would be kind of cool to see.

One thought on “Fictional Intruder

Leave a Reply

