Seat Guru

You get to plan a dinner party for 4-8 of your favorite writers/artists/musicians/other notable figures, whether dead or alive. Who do you seat next to whom in order to inspire the most fun evening?

That’s a good question. I first have to figure out who I would invite. I’ll choose a smaller party, because I can’t think of that many people at the moment. One name that pops up is Irish singer, Lisa Hannigan. That voice and that smile…woo. One down…three to go…Now who else to have for dinner? Bill Murray, maybe. He’s one of my favorite actors. I read about his antics and he seems like a pretty great person (I’ve also read that if he doesn’t respect you, he shows it…but who am I to judge?). I’m a fan of Neil Gaiman. I could invite him as well. I follow him on twitter and facebook…He’s kind of always there. He’s a great teller of stories. My last one would be more of a personal choice. They aren’t famous, but they’re notable to me. A friend I worked with on a musical project. Big powerful voice and just friendly to boot, my friend, Shibby. I think that rounds out my table.

I’m not entirely sure how I should seat anyone. Do I sit at the head of the table? Or does Bill Murray? What kind of table is it? Is it like one those round corner booths in a diner? That could be fun, but I really don’t think seating would be as much of an issue there. There’s a long table in the dining “room” in this house, but again… That is kind of up to the person. I’d let it be a free for all I guess. I just better make sure the animals haven’t decided to hang out in the area recently. I’m not very good at this. I think it’d be nice to spend time with some of these people, but I’m not really sure why…except for my last guest…we’re just good friends and it’d be good to see her.

A friend of mine used to go to all the festivals and meet his favorite musicians. I always asked…”What did you have to talk about?” I respect them, and I really enjoy their work… but I don’t know what I would talk about to them. I’ve got a few favorite guitar players, but I know that’s not all they want to talk about. Sure they enjoy talking about it, but guys like Leo Kottke (oooh I’m adding him to my list) are also big readers and just great story tellers. I’m not the greatest conversationalist and I might just sit in shock and awe and joy just to be around these people. So, I imagine it would be a lively dinner party aside from me just trying to listen to everyone. Sounds like a fun time… Right?

4 thoughts on “Seat Guru

  1. Your get together sounds fun!!! I wanna come! I like your writing style extremly intimate and personal, very nice. I look forward to reading your posts. Thank you for the comment on my blog 😄, you are too kind.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt Brings the LFN Fan out TyroCharm | TyroCharm

  3. Pingback: Seat Guru: Who would I invite to a party | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Leave a Reply

