On the ropes

Among the people you’ve known for a long time, who is the person who’s changed the most over the years? Was the change for the better?

I had a friend from about 1994 to 2009. His name was Chris. We came up together. Met in 4th grade. We hung out quite a bit until we were teenagers. Then we had different friends and interests like any other kid. We used to play video games and toys and whatever together when we were kids though. Loads of fun. When I graduated high school and started working and got a car, I thought to check up on him one day. I drove out to his dad’s house on the edge of town. I hadn’t seen him much since junior high when he decided that school just wasn’t his thing. His dad had been working overseas and taking care of him. He didn’t do much of anything for awhile. Played video games and got a whole lot of stuff. Didn’t leave his house unless someone came to get him as he didn’t have a car or know how to drive. He didn’t like being gone for too long on certain days. He really enjoyed watching wrestling and didn’t want to miss it. I always thought that was funny, but different people enjoy different things. I’d always go grab him and we’d get lunch and hang out on my days off. After awhile that stopped. I hadn’t seen him in a few years, but I ran into him at my cousin’s birthday party. He had finally got his GED and started driving and was talking about going out of state to work. I was happy to hear this and wanted to hang and have a beer or two to shoot the breeze. He said “No, I don’t want to miss wrestling.” And that was the end of that.

One thought on “On the ropes

Leave a Reply

