Un-Birthday

Since many are marking their country’s “birthday” in the US today, we wanted to ask: How do you celebrate yours? Are you all for a big bash, or more of a low-key birthday boy/girl?

I used to like having birthday parties when I was a kid. Inviting my friends over for food, games, and movies was always a treat. I remember celebrating my 18th birthday by getting $20 from my mom and walking down to the gas station to get some snacks at 3 in the morning. I stayed up all night hopped up and junk food and caffeine and then went to school. I stay to myself usually. If that day comes and somebody doesn’t know what day it is, I can live without that attention. I think the only time I actually celebrate more than just going to lunch with a relative or a friend is when I’m in a relationship. So, the last five years have been pretty much low key and I like that. I’m not big on being the center of attention, unless I’m performing. Even then, that seems to have changed a bit as well. My last birthday, I went to a Chinese buffet with a few family members and a friend. The rest of the day, I picked up my niece and nephew from school, and relaxed. It was quite nice.

One thought on “Un-Birthday

  1. Pingback: Birthday Party!!! | Mere Thoughts

Leave a Reply

