Left? Right? Backwards?

When was the last time you got lost? Was it an enjoyable experience, or a stressful one? Tell us all about it.

 

I was driving to Brenham, Tx with my cousin one Saturday in January of last year.  I’ve been to Brenham many times in the last 30 years, but this was my first time actually driving there.  We were on our way to our Uncle’s place to visit.  We got into a couple of mishaps on the way there.  I will say that at the time, my car wasn’t in the best order.  I had hit a deer a couple of months prior and my driver side headlamp was on its very last leg.  All of the getting lost was done when we had reached the town and were looking for my uncle’s place on the edge of it.

First, I missed the exit that would have taken us to the other side of town that he lived on.  So, we ended up driving into the old downtown area and getting ourselves lost.  I had my cousin, who was starting to get worried, call up and say “We’re here, but we’re not.  Where do we go?”  She was getting mad due to the fact that I had no idea where I was.  Over the years, I’ve been pretty good about getting lost.  I’ve warned friends and family that rode with me to new places….”This’ll be an adventure…”  Anyhow… I ended up outside of town, but on the wrong side.  So I found a turn around area and went for it.  I misjudged which side of traffic I was on and ended up driving into oncoming traffic.  Again, my headlamp was pretty much a nightlight at this point and wasn’t very helpful in allowing me to see.  So I drove into oncoming traffic until I could find another turn around area to correct the situation.  The cousin was not pleased.

Next, we finally find where we’re supposed to be, but I got turned around.  Went left when I should have went right.  This made for another mini-adventure.  I pull into a “driveway” to turn around.  I misjudge how much room I have.  I end up high centered on a culvert.  My car is now a clunky see-saw.  At first I thought I broke something, so I hopped out of the car and fell into the ditch.  After doing a once over, it was just stuck, nothing broken.  So I calmly call my uncle again and explain to him what happened…all while laughing at my cousin for having a panic attack.  She’s so angry by this point…she just wants to get there.  We eventually get help from a passing trucker and we arrive at our destination in one piece.

Normally I would consider these things quite unpleasant, but I think I may have been too tired to care.  So I laughed as hard as I possibly could and shrugged them off.  Nobody got hurt, we just lost twenty minutes.  We got to our destination, had some food and beers and we were set for the night.  All in all it was a good time.

 

 

What others are saying:

http://kansamuse.me/2014/07/02/searching-for-the-swedish-church/

http://blainecindy.com/2014/07/02/where-am-i/

http://alanewart.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/wrong-turns-not-in-the-way-you-might-expect/

http://ramblingonblog.wordpress.com/2014/07/03/wrong-turn-into-a-magical-place/

3 thoughts on “Left? Right? Backwards?

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Dreaming Of Darkness Retreating” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

