Getting started….How to keep going?

Is there something you’ve always wanted to do, but never got around to starting (an activity, a hobby, or anything else, really)? Tell us about it — and tell us about what’s keeping you from doing it.

 

Getting started is never really a problem for me.  If I see something I want to do, I’ll usually be pretty successful at getting started.  It’s more of the follow through that gets me a lot of the time.  If I hit a lull, it’s easy for me to just drop it.  I’ve heard 10,000 hours, 7 years, the first 20 hours and you’ll be proficient at whatever it is you’re trying to do.  The 20 hours thing makes the most sense to me.  I saw a TED Talk about it at one point.  If you can make the first 20 hours, you should be good to go.  I’ve been playing guitar for the better part of 17 years.  I found it very stimulating at first, so I had no problem messing with it.  I never saw it as a “something to try” thing, but as a “something I do” thing.  I’ve taken up learning Spanish over the last little bit.  I’ll usually be good for a week, and then stop for awhile.  I’ll hit a bump where it just doesn’t seem to get any better, or I’ll get caught up in something else that takes more of my attention…and I’ll miss a day or ten.  I’ve missed about five so far, I think.  But I acknowledge it.  It’s still something I’d like to do and in a way, I’ve even gotten started on it.  I just haven’t been doing my best to keep it up.  I guess, if I lack the stimulation, motivation, inspiration, whatever you want to call it…it’s harder.  This is why exercising has been a pain in the rear over the years.  It’s something I do want to do more of, but I have no motivation to do so.  hehe  I guess, I may have doubled back around to the beginning of my post here…maybe sometimes getting started isn’t so easy.

What others are saying –

http://itsmayurremember.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/back-in-the-queue/

http://duniyaku.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/back-of-the-queue-it-remains-a-mystery/

5 thoughts on “Getting started….How to keep going?

    • The 10,000 hours thing is daunting to think about. I hadn’t heard about it until a few years ago, so it was nice to know that I made it that long or even longer without realizing it. hehe

  1. Pingback: Back in the queue | It's Mayur Remember?

  2. Pingback: Updating My Life Queue | TyroCharm

Leave a Reply

