Something to chew on

You have to choose one flavor that your sense of taste will no longer be able to distinguish. Sweet, sour, bitter, salty, umami, spicy (not a taste per se, but we’re generous): which one do you choose to lose?

     I don’t like these kinds of questions.  Choices between things that I enjoy…”Would you rather?”  That question is one that irks me.  I can’t decide.  Especially when it comes to choosing something that will ultimately be permanent.  I’m not a huge fan of sweetness but there are certain characteristics to the flavor of something.  A tomato…isn’t sweet, but it has a hint of sweetness to it.  I could live without sour, but then I would never enjoy lemonade or limes again.  That’d be a shame.  Bitter…Is one that I could almost go without…but I like coffee and tea and both are pretty bitter without added stuff.  Salty is one that I could never give up.  I enjoy it too much.  Umami is the savory thing.  That can’t be given up.  Spicy…I won’t give up my spicy.  For the sake of the post, I would say bitter…but I’d be bitter if I had to give it up in real life.

2 thoughts on “Something to chew on

  1. Pingback: Pungency | Prairie Views

Leave a Reply

