That’s all….Period

We all have strange relationships with punctuation — do you overuse exclamation marks? Do you avoid semicolons like the plague? What type of punctuation could you never live without? Tell us all about your punctuation quirks!

 

     I have a weird relationship with grammar, punctuation, and structure.  It’s been a long time since I’ve taken a language arts class, so all of my writing is a bit improper.  My speaking tends to be the same.  I remember that paragraphs are usually written about a main idea.  Everything written in the paragraph should be dealing with the main idea in some way.  I think that’s the idea…anyways.  

     So, going back to the main idea of the prompt….I tend to overuse periods more than anything else.  I use them like I see them in conversations…articles…blogs….Sunday comics…Just like that.  I use them in place of commas…so that you know…there’s a slight pause…or…that I might be listing…something.  You get the idea…right?  I think that I’ve done this quite a bit in my entries so far, but I haven’t taken any time to go back through and proofread…because…well…that would not be very much fun for me.  

     Sometimes I don’t even use punctuation at all  I just insert two spaces in between sentences like I learned in all those typing classes in school  Just enough space to say that I’ve started a new sentence  This can get confusing especially as it may appear that the sentence can be viewed as a paragraph long single breath annoying thing

     Other times, I use it, but maybe quite improperly.  Funny thing is…by pointing this out, I might just accidentally do it right.  I think I’ll look into some of these things in greater detail so I can be more effective in my writing.  I know that, without punctuation, things can get a little hairy.  The same with punctuation in the wrong places.  I know everyone’s seen the meme about “I like cooking my family and my pets”.  The whole oxford comma thing.  But even if I don’t use the comma, could I use the periods in there?  Or would that just make you read it like William Shatner spoke his lines?  I like cooking….my family…and…my pets….  That could be quite amusing.

One thought on “That’s all….Period

  1. Pingback: Punctuation And Misfits | It's Mayur Remember?

Leave a Reply

