Forward?

Team USA is playing today in the soccer World Cup in Brazil. Do you have any funny/harrowing/interesting memories from a sporting event you attended, participated in, or watched?

 

I used to play soccer when I was a wee little kid of about 6 or 7.  I played for a year or two.  I guess it goes without saying…you put a bunch of little kids out there and throw a ball of any kind…it’s going to be amusing to say the least.  I was a hyper little guy that didn’t really care if there was a ball in play or not.  I wanted to play.  If I was on the field, I was playing.  Was I playing soccer?  A lot less often than my mom would have liked.  The ball isn’t near me?  So what?  I found something to keep me occupied.  With a big imagination…the world is your oyster…even if there is a ball flying at you.

The coach once told us…”keep the ball going, no matter what.  If someone has it….you take it from them.”  I took it literally, and the first time I was allowed to be a forward….the goalie got the ball.  Welp, I was told to keep kicking it and take it….So I did.  That poor girl….I knocked her over and tried to get the ball from her clutches.  I got benched, but that’s ok.  I was just doing what I was told.  Ah…to be a kid again….

2 thoughts on “Forward?

  1. Pingback: Offside Memories: My ten favorite sports memories | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Offside Memories | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

