Gongs?

Do you remember a recent dream you had? Or an older one that stayed vivid in your mind? Today, you’re your own Freud: Tell us the dream, then interpret it for us! Feel free to be as serious or humorous as you see fit, or to invent a dream if you can’t remember a real one.

 

     When I was a little kid of about 7-9 years old…I had a weird dream.  It started normal, I’m sure.  I really don’t remember how it started.  I just know it was pretty strange, and that I hadn’t been watching too many horror movies at that age.   I don’t know where it came from, but I know where the pick up happened.

     We were at my grandmother’s house one night.  I think they were barbecuing, and my mom had dishes duty.  I was in the kitchen with her and she was washing a big knife.  A few seconds later, she’s standing completely still with a crazed look on her face.  I, of course, didn’t like it so I went outside.  The family members outside were cackling loudly and bein’ a bit nutty.  I saw the looks on their faces as well and they had the same crazed look my mother had.  My aunt was looking dead at me and for some reason her chair fell backwards.  She rolled out of the chair laughing maniacally and stood up rather quickly.  I figured that this would be a good time for a young kid to high tail it out of there.  I ran.

     Next thing I know, I’m in a Gondola on some river and we’re coming to a stop.  In the air, I hear what sounds like a gong being struck hard.  It’s struck, it rings and fades, and then it’s struck again.  It’s kind of haunting.  It was like mood music for the dream, I guess.  We come to a little docking area and I get out.  I guess this is as good a spot as any to build a fancy looking bathroom.  So, I walk up a little path and go inside.  I still hear the gong, but I hear breathing.  I look around and in the back corner I see….Darth Vader?  What the hell?  At this time, my subconscious must have felt that it was time to wake up.  So I did.

 

     I’ve got a few different things to say about this.  One…Gongs are awesome…until they’re in a weird dream where you’re getting chased by zombie relatives and bumping into Darth Vader in a bathroom.  Two…My grandma has a sign on the front of her house that said “Welcome to the Nuthouse”….I assume them going crazy in my dream was like a preview into later life?  Either that or I really thought I must have done something wrong for them to chase me around all crazy like.  Three…Darth Vader?  I can’t even imagine…Maybe I had watched Star Wars recently.  Maybe my subconscious was trying to tell me to wake up and use the restroom and thought that zombie families, scary gong crashes and Mr. Vader would do the trick.  Totally worked…  

2 thoughts on “Gongs?

  1. Pingback: Freudian Flips | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: What would Freud say? | Flying On Empty Thoughts

Leave a Reply

