Cogs

If you could be a famous person for a day, who would you be? Why?

     In high school, I played guitar in a band.  Being 16 and playing guitar and being able to perform was a wonderful experience.  Being 30 and being able to perform is fun.  I still do it today.  My mentality has changed of course.  Being 16 and getting attention from your friends, “fans” if you will….was great.  I got to do a few cool things and we played outside of town quite a bit.  We even got the chance to play with a band that we admired that had “made it”.  They’re still around doing good things.  That was a fun experience, because people thought we were “famous” too just because.  It’s funny that this prompt was posted today though.  I received a message via Facebook about that band yesterday.  Come to find out we have an international fan for a band that hasn’t been active in over a decade.  Was funny to see that.  But the funny thing about doing that at 16….you think that one day things will just happen.  You want them to.  You KNOW they will.  You just don’t know when.  The best part is that so many 16 year-olds have the same dream when it comes to that.  I still perform and work with a project or two, but now it is just out of the sheer enjoyment of it.  I don’t have any big aspirations of being famous.  I just want to play.  Pretty cliche really.  I like being in the background in the bands now.  I don’t want to be up front.  I want to make things work and sound good and not stand out.  I like being a cog, I guess.  They’re important to the machine.  They keep it moving.  I like being there, doing what I do, and then going about the time I’m wherever and not really getting noticed for it.  It’s nice to get noticed and stuff.  Everyone likes to hear “Good job”….”That was cool.”  A pat on the back never hurt anyone.  But I don’t think I could handle being a famous person, even for a day.  I like bein’ left alone.  That’s too much pressure for me.  I’ll stick with instructing folks on the little details of playing and get rewarded with those cool looks on their faces when they hear something that sounds the way that they want it to.  I’m here to help.

15 thoughts on “Cogs

  1. Pingback: Ben Franklin and To Do Lists | Prairie Views

  2. I’d love to be a pianist. I’d play concerts for a huge audience and travel around the world. I’d be able to show people the beauty which is inside the Classics – Chopin, Mozart etc. That is my the biggest dream. You’re right, sometimes if you play just for the closest people it’s okay. You think you are doing something big and it’s great feeling. Althought you’re older you still have the same dreams. It’s beautiful.
    I am encourageing to visit my blog 🙂

    • Thank you for your response. I recently realized that a lot of what I was doing wasn’t for the sheer joy of the experience. That’s why I did it initially, then it just became something I did on occasion. Gotta have the experience though. If you can’t play because you love to play, then why would you play, right? hehe

  3. Maby for developing my character and attitude towards obstacles. Maby it’s only way to escape from reality even though you don’t exacly feel that music. It’s good time for thinking about past and re-thinking some troubles and decidions that you’ve made.

  4. Pingback: In My 15 Minutes of Fame, a Nightmare. | TyroCharm

  5. Pingback: Instant Celebrity | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Leave a Reply

