I Make Noise

Tell us about something you (or a person close to you) have done recently (or not so recently) that has made you really, unabashedly proud.

I wasn’t sure that it was a good idea to add other projects to my blogging (even though the blogging isn’t really a project, but more of a way to get me in the habit of writing or creating daily…the prompts have been helpful).  This post seems like a time where it’s appropriate.

I had been working as a guitar instructor in a music shop from 2008 until 2013.  I was coming up on five years at the shop, but was released to do it on my own as business wasn’t exactly booming.  So, I decided to set out on my own and try to do it with the not so booming business knowledge still there.  I’m still doing it actually.  I guess I could say that I’m proud I’ve survived a year doing it on a much smaller scale compared to what it was.  I ran into a friend from high school who was very big into production and we traded services for services.  We did about a month of lessons and shot the breeze, so lessons went from an hour to however long it took us to shut up.  It was a good experience.  Our last session he had the idea to record me…which isn’t unheard of these days…everyone does something like that.  I’d heard his work and although it was different from what I do, we took a shot at it.  Three hours later we had taken a little strummy instrumental tune I had written and turned it into a huge sounding track.  I was blown away and it made me proud.  It felt good to have something I did come together like that.  So, I suppose I should link to the tune.  Ain’t the best out there, but it’s one of my best.

 

2 thoughts on “I Make Noise

Leave a Reply

