Can’t Decide

If you could clone one element from another city you’ve visited — a building, a cultural institution, a common street food, etc. — and bring it back to your own hometown, what would it be?

 

     I’m torn between a couple of things.  While I’m not really a huge fan of big cities, visiting Austin, Tx is always a treat for a day trip.  There’s plenty to see and do there.  I can’t choose just one, so I’ll try for three. 

      I really enjoyed going to the botanical gardens down there.  It was nice and quiet and very very relaxing to just walk through there and look at the landscaping and everything they do.  It’s been about six years since I’ve been to them.  That’s kind of sad seeing as I tend to go to Austin every couple of months.  Last time I went there, I was taking time off of work due to a death in the family and I needed a quick getaway to clear my head.  Seeing these gardens helped quite a bit.

     There’s a nice little “mountain” overlooking the Colorado River down there (my geography may be a bit off).  It’s called Mount Bonnell.  I’ve been there a few times over the years.  First time was a drunken New Years eve with a car load of friends.  We went there to watch the sun come up.  Pretty cool experience with all of the friends.  It’d be nice to see something like that around here.

     Lastly….the food trucks.  I don’t think I need to explain this one.  Gyros, hot dogs, pizza, etc.  Why drive far when you can just walk down the street and pick up a delicious treat?

     

4 thoughts on “Can’t Decide

  1. Pingback: The Community Road to Fitness and Culture | Prairie Views

  2. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: City Planners | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

