A book’s story?

What’s the oldest thing you own? (Toys, clothing, twinkies, Grecian urns: anything’s fair game.) Recount its history — from the object’s point of view.

     I was born in 1965 in the town of Kirkwood, Missouri.  Three guitars adorn my face.  I am quite surprised that I even have a face after very very close to 50 years of little to no use.  If you go by the dates written on my inside face in pencil, my first actual use was in 1971.  I sat on a shelf for six years before I was even given a though.  Boy was I happy to be taken home.  The book store shelves, while full, tend to get lonely after awhile.  I make friends only to watch an eager person steal them away and replace them with someone else.

     I thank David and Paul, though I don’t remember you, for taking me in and making me useful even if it was for 15 days in 1971.  I hope you learned everything that you could from me.  I don’t recall much, so I must have been put on a shelf with other books in another store.  Maybe a thrift store, so those friends I made were probably a little more cozy on the shelves there.  I thank Albert for picking me up somewhere between 1971 and 1997.  You probably put me to some good use to learn to read and play your guitar and I’m sure you loved every second of it.  You then passed me onto my current owner, who proceeded to put me in a stack with all of my friends only to find me 17 years later for this writing.  Thanks, Mike, for keeping in a pile, a box, a chest, in a shed and anywhere else yo could think to store me.  I had many friends in those places and we got comfortable knowing that we’d probably stay there forever.  But…you remembered me.  Even if it was for just this writing thing you’re doing, you remembered and thought to make me useful in some way.  So if I’m not used again for years and years….I’m ok with that, because my owner has found a use for me.  

     My name is The Mel Bay Easy Way to Guitar and I thank you for reading my story…what little there is to it.  I may be stained and my face torn, but I am still here.  50 years is a long time to sit in the dark, but I think that I’m about to be looked through.  Good day.

4 thoughts on “A book’s story?

  1. Pingback: The battle for Sleepyhead | TyroCharm

  2. Pingback: Our Old House aka Money Pit | Prairie Views

Leave a Reply

