Fishing with the Fisherman

One day, your favorite piece of art — a famous painting or sculpture, the graffiti next door — comes to life. What happens next?

 

I press play and I’m transported from a chair in the living room to a small fishing boat in the middle of some random body of water.  I smell the air, and feel the breeze.  I look around and spot a man in a big jacket.  I feel like I’m looking at the guy on the fish stick box.  What do I know?  It could be him.  I hear the waves beat against the boat.  I like that sound.  Mr. Gorton (that’s the fish stick guy’s name right?) comes up to me and asks me to crank the crank (I have no idea about fishing vocabulary here).  We pull in a load of fish.  Each one that falls on deck makes a sweet little melody.  It starts with a few low notes and moves onto a nice strolling melody.  It sounds happy even when the fish…well…aren’t.  Each not comes through clearer than the last.  It started quiet, but it built into a nice volume.  For a few minutes I was definitely inside Kottke’s “The Fisherman” and it was beautiful.  As the melody comes to a close and the big C chord at the end chimes out…I’m back in my living room.  That was refreshing, but I start to wonder…If that was “The Fisherman”, what would “When Shrimp Learn to Whistle” be like?  I sit back down and press play.

3 thoughts on “Fishing with the Fisherman

  1. Pingback: I stood… Now I move | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  2. Pingback: Life And Art | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  3. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Living Art | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

